Saturday, April 26, 2014

Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the

 International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years. The tournament is one of the world's most viewed sporting events, ranked behind only the FIFA World Cup and the Summer Olympics, and is considered the "flagship event of the international cricket calendar" by the ICC.
The first World Cup was organised in England in June 1975, with the first ODI cricket match having been played only four years prior. However, a separate Women's Cricket World Cup had been held two years before the first men's tournament, and a tournament involving multiple international teams had been held as early as 1912, when a "triangular" tournament of Test matches was played between Australia, England and South Africa. Each of the first three World Cups were held in England. From the 1987 tournament onwards, hosting has been shared between countries under an unofficial rotation system, with fourteen ICC members having hosted at least one match in the tournament. Hosting of a single edition is often shared between neighbouring countries—the tournament's most recent edition (held in 2011 and won by India, was shared between Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka.